The Catholic Rosary – Learn and Pray

Rosary Prayer for Peace and Trust from Pope Francis

The Rosary is a Scripture-based prayer. It begins with the Apostles’ Creed, which summarizes the great mysteries of the Catholic faith. The Our Father, which introduces each mystery, is from the Gospels. The first part of the Hail Mary is the angel’s words announcing Christ’s birth and Elizabeth’s greeting to Mary. St. Pius V officially added the second part of the Hail Mary. The Mysteries of the Rosary center on the events of Christ’s life. There are four sets of Mysteries: Joyful, Sorrowful, Glorious and––added by Pope John Paul II in 2002––the Luminous.

The repetition leads you into restful and contemplative prayer focusing on each Mystery. The gentle repetition of the words helps us to enter into the silence of our hearts, where Christ’s spirit dwells. You can pray the rosary privately or with a group.

How to Pray the Rosary

[ultimate-faqs include_category=’rosary-prayers’ ]

You can find even more information about the Rosary here.

Do you need your own Rosary, or gift one to a friend or loved one? Shop for them on Amazon, follow this link to search for Rosaries on